Was the Forbidden Fruit really an apple?

I asked this question to my classmate during recess. I was in third grade at the time. They all said no. The next day I brought our Bible, the one with illustrations, and it shows Eve holding an apple.

Looking at our Bible now, it kind of looks like a tomato. I’m not sure. Although, the artist of this book just draws the fruit from what he/she thinks what the forbidden fruit looks like.

Or  when I ask you to imagine what Jesus looks like, we would probably have the same mental image in our heads now.

I read the Genesis chapter again just to make sure. Here are some of the “clues” I found about the Forbidden fruit.

And the Lord God commanded the man, “You are free to eat from any tree in the garden; but you must not eat from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, for when you eat from it you will certainly die.” Genesis 2: 16-17

A tree. So any fruits that grow in shrubs are out.

And the Lord God said, “The man has now become like one of us, knowing good and evil. He must not be allowed to reach out his hand and take also from the tree of life and eat, and live forever.” Genesis 2:22

There were two trees, the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil, and the Tree of Life.

Adam and Eve, designed to take care of the so-called paradise forever, they were immortals.

When Adam and Eve ate the forbidden fruit, did they become mortals?

So they got banished from the Garden of Eden because they might eat from the tree of life and become immortals again?

Huh. This may sound like a stupid question, but can’t He plant a tree in heaven or somewhere that He only has access to?

I’m not really sure how to answer my own question because the Bible never really mentioned about the forbidden fruit in the other books, as far as I know.

My one question when I was in third grade is just giving birth to more questions. Although, is it really important to find out what is the forbidden fruit? We all have a different version of what is good and evil, anyway. Maybe that’s what scares me the most.

 

Leave a Reply

