Mountain

They are the ones who have helped me hike on a Saturday morning for almost 4 hours and help me overcome my personal mountains every day.

I recently hiked with UP Red Cross Youth and UP Children’s Rights Advocate League in Sitio Paglitaw, one of the projects organized by UP RCY last semester. They conducted a basic first aid training for the elders in the community while UP CRAdLe hosted activities for the kids.

I didn’t want to miss this opportunity because it’s the first time that two of my organizations will be teaming up.

To be honest, the only time I’ve done some hiking in my life was in Busay, Cebu. (Fun fact: the photo I have in my header was the so-called hike but I don’t think that counts , it was super easy even for someone like me with zero experience .)

I attended as a member of UP CRAdLe with Thea Anastacio, a dear friend/member of the External Affairs Committee.

Outreach day. Some of the most unforgettable lines during the hike:

Thea: *pokes at rocks*

Me: What are you doing?

Thea: *pokes at rocks* It’s purple.

Riff: Taga-CS siya ‘no?

Me: Yup.

Riff: Sabi na eh. Kanina pa niya tinitignan yung bato.

Thea: Sana dinala ko yung equipment ko. Gusto ko tignan what makes it purple.

Me: *stares* Cool girl ka talaga. Buti na lang sumama ka.

 

Eung Pil: *poses* Picturan niyo ko!

Random person: *shouts* May green card ka ba?

 

Sol & Fred: *singing randomly*

Sol: You should sing din para masaya.

Me: But I’m exhausted.

Sol: Maybe a song that could encourage you to keep on walking.

Me: *at the top of my lungs* HEAD IN THE CLOUDS GOT NO WEIGHT ON MY SHOULDEEEERS!!

Sol: Britney Spears?

Me: *stares*

 

Friane’s personal interpretation of Ang Huling Tula na Isusulat Ko Para Sa’yo

Ito na ang huling bundok na aakyatin ko

Itaga mo yan sa bato

Kahit abutin man ako ng umaga dito

Hindi ko ipipikit ang mga matang ito

Ilang minuto ang tagal at ihahaba nito

Ito na ang huling bundok na aakyatin ko

*the following week, she mentioned about hiking again but in a different mountain*

When we finally arrived in Sitio Paglitaw, the members spread out to their respective committees.

I was part of the team assigned to host games and activities for the kids while their parents are attending the first aid lecture. It was difficult at first because I could not speak the language . It is sort of close to Bisaya so I just needed to adjust.

For the toddlers, we practiced making paper stars, airplanes, and boats.

I also brought my Frisbee disc with me. I tried teaching two of the eldest kids in the group, how to throw and some basic rules in playing Ultimate. After 30 minutes or so, they can do a better forehand throw than me.

When we were about to leave, one of the kids shouted my name and waved the paper airplane she made herself.

I couldn’t explain the happiness I’ve felt. Definitely one of the best experiences I’ve had with these orgs. It is a rare opportunity to meet people with different personalities and background but together with one common goal. To serve humanity.

We may face a different Mountain in our lives. This one-word prompt challenge made me think of my two organizations that served as a home during my college years. I hope everyone would have someone even half as awesome as you guys are. Life would definitely be more worth it.

 

2 thoughts on “Mountain

Leave a Reply

